Ilya Prigogine Prize in Thermodynamics 2021 – Call for applications

The Ilya Prigogine Prize is endowed with an amount of 2000 Euros in addition to a diploma. The prize honours Ph.D. dissertations/theses accomplished by young researchers, defended or published between January 2019 and January 2021. All aspects and branches of thermodynamics are considered, from applied and experimental to the most theoretical.
More details can be found here.

This prize was patronized by the Nobel Prize laureate Ilya Prigogine personally while he was alive. Every two years, it is bestowed on a promising young researcher in thermodynamics for his/her Ph.D. dissertation/thesis. Its calendar is linked to that of the Joint European Thermodynamics Conference (JETC). The former winners of the prize are listed below.

The applications will be examined by a selection committee of about ten scientists from different European countries. They will act as experts themselves and/or will choose the best experts in the domains concerned. The composition of the selection committee will be made public.

Conferral of the 2021 Prize:
The prize will be conferred solemnly during the JETC’21 Prigogine prize ceremony. The recipient will on this occasion give an oral presentation of his/her work. The candidates will be informed of the results by the end of April 2021.
The following documents should be submitted as pdf or word files via email to
  • a letter of application with the applicant’s full address, phone number, and e-mail
  • a curriculum vitae of the applicant
  • the full thesis
  • a short English abstract (no more than 2 pages)
  • if the thesis is not in English, an extended (20 pages) summary in English
  • the report of the jury or the reviewers of the dissertation/thesis, if any
  • a list of the applicant’s publications

Deadline: February 15, 2021

Evaluation Committee:
  • Bjarne Andresen (Denmark)
  • Gian-Paolo Beretta (Italy)
  • Jakob De Swaan Arons (The Netherlands)
  • Pierre Gaspard (Belgium)
  • Karl Heinz Hoffmann (Germany)
  • Miguel Rubi (Spain)
  • Doros Theodorou (Greece)
  • Daniel Tondeur (France)

Former winners:
2019 – Nicole Yunger Halpern
Quantum steampunk: Quantum information, thermodynamics, their intersection, and applications thereof across physics

2017 – Øivind Wilhelmsen
Equilibrium and non-equilibrium thermodynamics of planar and curved interfaces

2015 – Ronan Killian McGovern (Massachusetts Institute of Technology, USA)
The economics of future membrane desalination processes and applications

2013 – Anders Lervik (Chemistry Department, Norwegian University of Science and Technology, Trondheim, Norway)
Energy dissipation in biomolecular machines

2011 – Kirill Glavatskiy (Chemistry Department, Norwegian University of Science and Technology, Trondheim, Norway)
Multicomponent interfacial transport as described by the square gradient model

2009 – David Andrieux (Center for Nonlinear Phenomena and Complex Systems, Université Libre de Bruxelles, Belgium)
Nonequilibrium statistical thermodynamics at the nanoscale

2007 – Stefano Mazzoni (Physics Department, Universita degli Studi di Milano, Italy)
Pattern formation in convective instabilities in a colloidal suspension

2005 – Benoît Scheid (Departement de Physique des Fluides, Faculté des Sciences Appliquées, Université Libre de Bruxelles, Belgium)
Evolution and stability of falling liquid films with thermocapillary effects

2003 – David Reguera (Facultat de Fisica, Departament de Fisica Fondamental, Universitat de Barcelona, Spain)
Mesosocopic nonequilibrium kinetics of nucleation processes

2001 – Emmanuel Bertrand (Laboratoire de Physique Statistique de l’Ecole Normale Supérieure, Paris, France)
Transition de mouillage des alcanes sur l’eau: rôle des interactions entre interfaces